The myth, the woman

Taking a survey and altering it a little bit, Mythbusters-style. And here I am eight years on, being interested in my old answers.

I’M AFRAID OF SILENCE: Plausible, if it’s the wrong kind of silence. Plausible. I totally need music to function.
I TALK A LOT WHEN I GET NERVOUS: Plausible. Depends on the company. Confirmed. I babble like poor Alexander in “My Shot”.
I AM REALLY TICKLISH: Busted! I don’t cringe away from feathers, sorry.
I’VE BEEN CALLED A TEASE: Confirmed. Horrid little man.
I’VE BEEN CALLED “JAIL-BAIT”: Confirmed. Redacted.
I’M AFRAID OF THE DARK: Busted. It’s rather nice.
I’M AFRAID OF FACING MY BACK TO OPEN DOORS AT NIGHT: Busted, and… why?
I CAN’T SLEEP IN A ROOM IF THE CLOSET DOOR IS OPEN: Busted. Same question.
I AM A HOMOSEXUAL: Plausible. Roughly a two on the Kinsey; I am seeing a preference for men, but if I love someone, I don’t let gender get in the way. More of a 1.5, but yeah.
I BELIEVE IN TRUE LOVE: Confirmed, many times over. Redacted.
I’VE RUN AWAY FROM HOME: Confirmed. We went to a parking lot and then to a friend’s house. Lame, and when I fell on my (previously damaged) knee the next morning, over. (Note to self: If you go skating again, figure out how to stop.)
I LISTEN TO POLITICAL MUSIC: Confirmed, but somehow, this election is a buzzkill. It’s just not that funny. Neither is this one. I’m so sorry.
I COLLECT COMIC BOOKS: Plausible. Depends whether you count manga.
I SHUT OTHERS OUT WHEN I’M SAD: Plausible. I keep it to myself and my loved ones, except when it hurts so much that it kind of… seeps out.
I’VE STAYED OUT ALL NIGHT: Only technically confirmed, if out=bunking somewhere else in a fit of pique.
I OPEN UP TO OTHERS EASILY: Confirmed, but there are layers.
I AM KEEPING A SECRET FROM THE WORLD: Plausible. (Come on, now…)
I WATCH THE NEWS: Confirmed. These days, I stick to Olbermann and the News Hour on PBS. Olbermann is funny enough to make the news less irritating. Lehrer et al treat the issues with respect and approach them from a more worldly standpoint.
I OWN OVER 5 RAP CD’S: Busted. I don’t even own one. Still busted, because of playlists superseding CDs. I have a lot more rap than I had.
I LOVE DISNEY MOVIES: Plausible. Only certain mo vies.
I AM A SUCKER FOR GREEN EYES: Confirmed.
I AM A SUCKER FOR BROWN EYES: Confirmed.
I AM A SUCKER FOR BLUE EYES: Confirmed, and are we noticing a pattern yet?
I DON’T KILL BUGS: Busted. Some of those fuckers bite.
I CURSE: …er. Confirmed.
I’VE CHEATED ON MY BOYFRIEND/GIRLFRIEND: Busted, now and for-freaking-ever. If something’s wrong in the relationship, I believe in talking it out and deciding together what comes next.
I’VE SLIPPED AND FELL IN PUBLIC: Confirmed. I’ve raised it to an art form.
I’VE SLIPPED OUT A “LOL” IN A REAL CONVERSATION: Busted, but I will say “for the lulz” ironically.
I LOVE SPAM: Busted.
I’M A GOOD COOK: Plausible, depending on the dish.
I HAVE WORN PAJAMAS TO CLASS: Confirmed. Thank my high school and its many Spirit Weeks for that. Also, they’re comfy.
I HAVE OWNED SOMETHING FROM ABERCROMBIE: Busted. I can’t even walk in there without passing out. Jesus, do they put perfume in the ventilation? Confirmed, actually. It was secondhand. How did I forget that?
I WANT A BETTER JOB… OR A JOB: Confirmed. Preferably something that won’t put me to sleep. Be careful what you wish for.
I’VE TALKED ON THE PHONE FOR 6+ HOURS: Busted. Best I’ve managed so far is three-ish hours, and that was a marathon with Niichan. 🙂
I LOVE DR. PHIL: Busted. He does give some sensible advice, but I don’t fangirl him.
I LIKE SOMEONE: Confirmed. *mystery grin*
I AM GUILTY OF TyPiNg LiKe ThIs: Busted, and appalled at the thought.
I AM SELF-CONSCIOUS: Confirmed like whoa.
I LOVE TO LAUGH: Confirmed.
I DRINK ALCOHOL FREQUENTLY: Busted. Only plausible if we’re talking a sip here and there.
I’VE SMOKED A PACK OF CIGARETTES IN 1 DAY: Busted. I don’t want to start, either.
I’M NOT A VIRGIN: Busted! Which should have read “confirmed” because I am sometimes a cabbage. Waited ’til I was twenty-one, which will come as a shock to some of my classmates if they ever track me down (ha) and ask (ha HA). Not, I might add, due to scruples — I just never had the chance or the right partner.
I LOVE LORD OF THE FLIES: Busted. Couldn’t get into it. I like my escapist lit a little more escapist.
I EAT COUGH DROPS WHEN I’M NOT SICK: Busted. Yech.
I CAN’T SWALLOW PILLS: I’d be kind of screwed if this were “confirmed”, eh?
I HAVE A LOT OF SCARS: Busted. Just two.
I CAN’T SLEEP IF I KNOW THERE’S A SPIDER IN THE ROOM: Busted. If the bastard manages to elude me, good on him, and he can live another day.
I LOVE CHOCOLATE: Plausible. Right chocolate, right delivery method, sure…
I BITE MY NAILS: Confirmed, but not so much these days. Went on to “busted” status.
I TWIRL MY HAIR: Confirmed. I also twiddle my thumbs.
I AM COMFORTABLE WITH BEING ME: Confirmed.
I PLAY COMPUTER GAMES WHEN I’M BORED: Confirmed.
[Question deleted, as it managed to offend even me]
I’VE SEEN A SHOOTING STAR: Confirmed.
I’VE HAD A “MENAGE A TROIS”: Busted. It’s not something I’d take lightly.
I’VE GONE OUT IN PUBLIC IN MY PAJAMAS: Busted by default, if you remember one earlier question…
I’VE KISSED A STRANGER: Confirmed. (He was high…)
I’VE KISSED SOMEONE FOR THE HELL OF IT: Confirmed. (…I was just feeling frisky.)
I’VE HUGGED A STRANGER: Confirmed, I guess, though I never let them stay strangers.
I’VE BEEN IN A FIST FIGHT WITH SOMEONE OF THE SAME SEX: Busted. Is that supposed to be sexy?
I’VE LAUGHED AND HAD SOME TYPE OF BEVERAGE COME OUT OF MY NOSE: Busted. Ow, pain.
I’VE PUSHED ALL THE BUTTONS IN AN ELEVATOR: Confirmed, but there were other people in it at the time.
I’VE MADE OUT IN AN ELEVATOR: Busted. The damn things make me nervous.
I’VE KICKED A GUY WHERE IT HURTS ON PURPOSE: Busted, though I really should’ve done…
I’VE BEEN SKYDIVING: Busted, but was tempted to try if it would get me off that damn plane.
I’VE BEEN BUNGEE JUMPING: Busted. I like my innards where they are, thanks.
I’VE HAD STITCHES: Busted. Somehow, I never needed them.
I’VE BITTEN SOMEONE… AS A JOKE: Confirmed. Sorry, Jeff.
I’VE BEEN TO NIAGARA FALLS: Confirmed.
I’VE HAD THE CHICKEN POX: Confirmed. I remember the oatmeal bath.
I’VE CRASHED INTO A CAR: Plausible, if we’re talking “on foot, didn’t see it”.
I’VE BEEN TO JAPAN: Busted.
I’VE RIDDEN IN A TAXI: Confirmed. Two smallish women, traveling alone, lots of luggage? Uh, yeah.
I’VE SHOPLIFTED: Busted.
I’VE BEEN FIRED: Busted. (I quit before she could sack me.) And I’d give a lot to remember when exactly.
I’VE HAD FEELINGS FOR SOMEONE WHO DIDN’T HAVE THEM BACK: Confirmed. Always a lesson to be learned in there somewhere.
I’VE STOLEN SOMETHING FROM MY JOB: Busted. I sure did buy a lot of cheap books at their book sale, though.
I’VE BEEN ON A BLIND DATE: Busted. I had a picture.
I’VE HAD A CRUSH ON A TEACHER: Confirmed. Brains are sexy.
I’VE CELEBRATED MARDI GRAS IN NEW ORLEANS: Busted. It’s on my to-do list.
I’VE BEEN TO EUROPE: Confirmed, and I miss it.
I’VE SLEPT WITH A CO-WORKER, AND/OR EMPLOYEE: Busted. Also, ew.
I’VE BEEN MARRIED: Busted. Not likely to happen anytime soon. Chin up, old girl. You’re right, but maybe you’ll make better decisions in the future?
I’VE GOTTEN DIVORCED: …um. Busted as well.
I’VE BEEN PREGNANT: Busted, and taking pains to maintain that status quo.
I’VE SEEN SOMETHING/SOMEONE DYING: Confirmed, I’m sad to say. I didn’t get the cat away from the mouse in time.
I HAVE A LIST OF PEOPLE I WANT TO KILL: Busted. I’m evil, but not that evil.
I’VE DRIVEN OVER 400 MILES IN 1 DAY: Me, personally? Busted. My family? Confirmed, in order to get here from Texas.
I’VE BEEN TO CANADA: Confirmed. We fly in and out of Toronto, when we do go overseas.
I’VE BEEN ON A PLANE: …and, thus, confirmed.
I’VE SEEN THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW: Busted, but I saw my cousin Gregor and his troupe do part of it. He makes a mean Frank-n-Furter. Rrrrow.
I’VE THROWN UP FROM DRINKING: Busted.
I’VE EATEN SUSHI: Confirmed. Best barbecue sauce I ever had. What?
I’VE BEEN SKIING: Confirmed. Up here, who hasn’t?
I’VE BEEN ICE SKATING: Confirmed. Not a good idea, unless I’m wearing full leg armor. Mind you, this was between SCA encounters.
I’VE CRIED IN PUBLIC: Confirmed. I hate it, though.
I’VE TRIED TO COMMIT SUICIDE: Confirmed. What else is an eating disorder good for?
I’VE LIKED SOMEONE EVEN THOUGH I KNEW I SHOULDN’T HAVE: Confirmed. The son-of-a-bitch knew I was teetering on the brink, too.
I’VE THOUGHT ABOUT SOMEONE ALMOST 24/7: Confirmed. Some people are unforgettable. Redacted.
I’VE HATED THE WORLD: Cheery survey, isn’t this? Confirmed. Past tense.

Leave a Reply

