whatnot!

♥ Allan Stratton’s presence on Goodreads alerted me to the film LIFE, ABOVE ALL, an adaptation of his Chanda’s Secrets (which I loved).

♥ A fascinating paragraph from The Beheld on glamour, grammar, and where they intersect: “For gramarye, the root word of glamour, also gave birth to the word grammar. The route is fairly straightforward: Gramarye at one time simply meant learning, including learning of the occult, and it’s this variant that went on to be glamour. Grammar stayed magic-free and pertained to the rules of learning, eventually becoming particular to the rules of language. But the two are linked more than just etymologically: Both grammar and glamour function as a set of rules that help people articulate themselves and allow us to understand one another. I understand you are telling me of the future by the use of words like will and going to; I understand you are telling me about your vision of yourself with red lipstick and a wiggle dress.”

♥ Awesomeness from abroad: my cousin has Skype! My beloved Julia! And she wants to see my face and hear my voice and oh! I thought I’d lost her, too, over these going-on-eleven years, but I haven’t. Excuse me, verklempt.

♥ And another paragraph, by Donna Shute, with a lot of truth in it: “It was never enough, growing up, to be merely yourself, precious and unique, loved and lovable, unique, unrepeatable, irreducible. Nobody ever told you you were any of those things. The pressure was always on, and the external and internal compulsions to be Something, to be Great, to be Extraordinary, were both ubiquitous and unbearable. In our unceasing efforts to impress our parents, our friends, our enemies, to prove ourselves worthy of love, we got straight A’s, were valedictorians and salutatorians, graduated summa cum laude, danced through the hallways of academia with self-promoting narcissism masking the self-loathing lurking just beneath. We became great students, writers, actresses, singers, dancers, athletes. We lusted after elusive perfection, seeking with an insatiable and hellish desire to be the best, the brightest, the prettiest, the wittiest, the smartest, the sexiest — all embodied in being the Thinnest — whatever the cost. Eventually, we lost ourselves in the process, turning violently upon our own person, destroying our very selves in our desire to obliterate the imperfect bits.”

Moonraker's BrideMoonraker’s Bride by Madeleine Brent
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

