thoughts on a january cure: day 3, 4, and 5

I am not sure why I have to buy my house flowers.

Of all the things my house wants, more clutter ain’t one of ’em. We have Santas in our potted vine and my altar’s been displaced for the holidays. (Nowhere to burn my incense. Blast.) We’ve kept last year’s poinsettia — er, maybe we should get it a pot of its own. Loads of people just throw them away, you know? And ours is now family. We are all set when it comes to greenery, thank you.

IMAG0881-santasinpot

I would vacuum if I could lift the devil. This is a house, not an apartment, so “Clean ALL The Floors” is perhaps ambitious. I could borrow Mum’s new hand vac and do the higher-traffic areas in my room, as well as launder (or replace) the bathroom rugs. Would that suffice?

The greenest I will get when it comes to cleaning products is a liberal dose of vinegar and baking soda into the garbage disposal, followed by a chunk of lemon. I worked with Scrubbing Bubbles many a Sunday in my year of making signs for the local supermarket. Nothing beats it. Windex and Scrubbing Bubbles: beautiful.

I also developed a serious aversion to cilantro that year. Comes of working in the back room of the produce department.

Leave a Reply

